Bee Unit

The kids have been learning about Bees the past 2 weeks. We got most of the materials from Easy Peasy Zoology. I printed off what we wanted to use (we don’t use everything they have listed, just what works for us).  We also read each day from the book they recommend on Bees.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The kids really enjoyed learning about Bees. I wanted to share a few photos of the finished product. They colored a bee one day while I was reading. We also cut out hexagons and they glued them to the page to show how the connect.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

During the week, we also watch a few YouTube videos, even one where a bee poops. I know, it’s gross, but Lilly came up to me and asked what bee poop looked like, so we found out. That video lead to another video on the bee dance, and bee hives, etc.  Videos are such a  great learning tool. I’m glad we can look up pretty much anything anytime we need too. (Yes, Lilly writes her ‘g’ backwards).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We finished up the last day by watching The Bee Movie. They made several references about what was right and wrong during it without me even asking. It wasn’t the best movie, but they liked it enough.

Unknown-1

We really wanted to go to a bee farm. I called around, but my kids were a little scared to be around so many bees, so I will take them when they get a little older.

Next unit…. worms 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

