Springfield MO Discovery Center

We visited the Springfield, MO Discovery Center a few days ago during free admission day.

The kids had a really good time. Turner really seemed to be into understanding why or how things work.

Lilly’s favorite part was walking through the dark room with ‘stars’ and spinning with her brother.

They both eagerly want to go back, however, honestly, I’m not sure I would ever pay the full admission price. They have increased the prices in the last few years to $10 for adults. It just doesn’t seem worth it to me. By time I take my family, I’m spending around $40 to walk in the door.

It was a good time, but it also seemed like some of the exhibits could be more exciting and kept up better. I was very disappointed in the Culture/Regions of the World area. Things seemed dirty and a lot was missing. They really need to invest in this area, an entire revamp would be more like it.

There were areas designated for younger kids, but honestly I think kids 6 and up benefit the most, and if you take the time to read the signs you can learn a lot.

All video was shot using our new GoPro Hero 3+.  It’s amazing and a wonderful purchase, I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

