Incorporating drawing into school

My daughter, who is 7, can sit down to draw and create all day and be perfectly content. I generally find her in her room, with the music blaring, creating something. I love watching her do this, however, my son is another story. He never thinks or cares about being creative or working on drawing technique.

So I decided to start putting drawing at the forefront of our school time. I think it’s so important to have something you enjoy and you can get better at. I always loved to draw as a child, and it really gave me an outlet as a child, so I want that for them also.

They draw 2-3 times a week following their favorite online tutorials right now. I encourage them to not erase as much as possible, this way they slow down, hit pause, and really think before they draw.

My son has really enjoyed this over the last 2 weeks and we will continue with it.

The tutorials are 5-10 minutes long.

To be successful we have done the following:

1. Let them pick the tutorial

2. Encourage and remind them to hit pause as many times as they need, take your time and it will look fantastic.

3. They sit in a completely other room, one at a time. No distractions. Only them and their drawing. 

4. They think about what they could do differently next time to make it even better. 

5. Go over the different types of lines all drawings are made up of: horizontal, vertical, diagonal, and curved. They can then decide which one they need to use to draw a specific part.

IMG_0062 IMG_0060 Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset image5

 

Leave a Reply

